CHAT - A Dolphin Interaction Wearable

Faculty: 
Thad Starner - thad@cc.gatech.edu, Peter Presti - peter.presti@imtc.gatech.edu, Scott Gilliland - scott.gilliland@gatech.edu
Students: 
Daniel Kohlsdorf - dkohlsdorf6@gatech.edu, Celeste Mason - celeste.m@gatech.edu, Stewart Butler - stewart@ethosnet.net

CHAT (Cetacean Hearing Augmentation Telemetry) is a wearable underwater computer system, engineered to assist researchers in establishing two-way communication with dolphins. The project seeks to facilitate the study of marine mammal cognition by providing a waterproof mobile computing platform. An underwater speaker and keyboard enable the researchers to generate whistles. The system is equipped with a two-channel hydrophone array used for localization and recognition of specific responses that are translated into audio feedback. The current system is the result of multiple field tests, guided by the researcher's feedback and the environmental constraints.

http://hdl.handle.net/1853/52112

Lab: 
Director: 
Thad Starner

The Contextual Computing Group (CCG) creates wearable and ubiquitous computing technologies using techniques from artificial intelligence (AI) and human-computer interaction (HCI). We focus on giving users superpowers through augmenting their senses, improving learning, and providing intelligent assistants in everyday life. Members' long-term projects have included creating wearable computers (Google Glass), teaching manual skills without attention (Passive Haptic Learning), improving hand sensation after traumatic injury (Passive Haptic Rehabilitation), educational technology for the Deaf community, and communicating with dogs and dolphins through computer interfaces (Animal Computer Interaction).